Board of Directors

Governance Structure

A non-executive Board of Directors governs the Authority. It is the highest
decision-making body of the Authority. The Board is responsible for the
overall policy direction and leadership of the Authority.
The composition of the Board is stipulated in Section 6 of the Retirement
Benefits Act. The members consist of:
(i) The Chairman, appointed by the Cabinet Secretary, National Treasury;
(ii) The Chief Executive Officer, appointed by the Board;
(iii) The Principal Secretary, National Treasury;

(iv) The Commissioner of Insurance;
(v) The Chief Executive of the Capital Markets Authority, and
(vi) Five members, not being public officers, appointed by the Cabinet
Secretary by virtue of their knowledge or experience in matters relating
to the administration of scheme funds, banking, insurance, law or
actuarial studies

Mr Nelson Havi

Nelson Havi

Chairman, Board of Directors

Mr Charles Machira

Mr. Charles Machira

Chief Executive Officer

Mr Ambrose R.M. Ogango

Ambrose R.M. Ogango

Director and Head of the Financial Unit at the National Treasury

Mr Wyckliffe Shamiah

Wyckliffe M. Shamiah, FCPA

Director & Chief Executive, Capital Markets Authority


Mr. Godfrey K. Kiptum, MBS

Director & CEO and Commissioner of Insurance, Insurance Regulatory Authority


Mr Jeremiah K. Kendagor

Board Member

Mr Ambrose R.M. Ogango

Dr. Jane Nyokabi Njuguna

Board Member

Mr Joseph Kiborus Tarus

Mr Joseph Kiborus Tarus

Board Member

Director Ibrahim Salat

Hon Ibrahim M. Salat

Board Member


Mrs. Praxidis Saisi

Director, Legal Services and Corporation Secretary